Virginia Does Nebraska

Tales from an opinionated Red Head

Ermegherd…I’m urpshy dern! August 13, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — virginiadoesnebraska @ 11:40 PM
Tags:

What an interesting week. I feel like I’m upside down. I watch my dog, General, sleep happily upside down and normally think nothing of it. However, when I took this pic, I focused on it a little more and found myself realizing I too am upside down.

I remember being 22 and thinking to myself, “when I’m 30 I’ll be married and have at least 2 kids…”. Well, obviously I missed that pre grown up pseudo dream, and now have different dreams.

All I thought, or perhaps was taught, that I should want or strive to be has been turned upside down. I’ve found that my strength lies in my work and passion for something as “boring” as regulatory affairs. It seems to be the one thing I excel at. I played soccer, but I was never número uno. I dated, and I obviously suck at that. And lo and behold, who’d a thunk, this zany redhead could buck up and stand toe to toe with the likes of P&G’s regulatory gurus.

Don’t get me wrong, I see other peoples lives and wonder, is there something screwy with me? People ask all the time, “why aren’t you married?”. I don’t know whether to tell them I just never got around to it because I’ve moved 5 times in the last 6 years or maybe nobody can put up with me. I think either is a good excuse.

Point of my anecdote is that I feel like the exact opposite of the feminie role that existed in the 50s and am proud of my accomplishments. However, it’s still a fact that women are paid 70 cents on the dollar of their male counterparts. I think this is hilarious. As a 27 year old female I got into pet food regulatory and within a year was speaking on a panel in Washington DC in front of industry and FDA and USDA. I didn’t see any guys there near my age at the panel or even in the crowd.

So, perhaps I may not get married before I’m forty, but I certainly have made my way in a man’s world with many admiring high ranking regulators and business men in my wake.

Give me 5 more years and I’m going I even it out for the ladies! Besides, what else do I have to do?

20120813-234020.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

